Tim Moore nominated for second term as House speaker

Rep. Tim Moore
Rep. Tim Moore

House Republicans have nominated Rep. Tim Moore, R-Cleveland, for a second term as speaker.

The vote among the GOP caucus was unanimous, according to a press report from Moore’s office. Said Moore:

“I am grateful for the opportunity and honored to have the unanimous support of House Republicans. We have an outstanding group of freshmen-elects and new leaders stepping up in the House, and I can’t wait to get to work with them in the months ahead.  The strength of the House Republican supermajority lies not in our numbers but in the incredible character and dedication of my fellow members who serve the citizens of North Carolina.” 

The GOP caucus also nominated Rep. Sarah Stevens, R-Surry, to be speaker pro-tem. The actual election of the speaker and speaker pro-tem will come when the General Assembly convenes for its long session on Jan. 11, 2017. Republicans hold a 74-46 advantage over Democrats in the chamber.

The House GOP caucus also selected Rep. John Bell, R-Wayne as majority leader, Rep. Stephen Ross, R-Alamance, as deputy majority leader, Rep. John Szoka, R-Cumberland, as conference chair, Rep. Jon Hardister, R-Guilford, as majority whip, Rep.-elect Destin Hall, R-Caldwell, as freshman leader, and Rep.-elect Brenden Jones, R-Bladen, as freshman whip.